It is recommended to add at least one or two operators to your group. This ensures some continuity and responsibility for the group if you are absent or no longer able to be active in the group. 

 

How do I transfer ownership or add group operators?

 

When you create a group, you will be the group's default owner. You can change the owner or add a group operator. An operator will have the same privileges to change settings as an owner, with the exceptions of deleting the group or changing the group's owner.

(Note: To become an operator, the user must first be a member of the group to become an operator.)


Go to your group’s activity page.


Click the Settings icon that appears on the right side of the home page. 


In the drop-down menu that appears, click Manage group operators


In the Add another operator text box, type the name of the group member you want to add as an operator and click their name when it appears in the drop-down menu.



Select Make Operator.


You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the member was added as an operator. The person who you've made an operator should receive an email notifying them that they are now an operator.


How to remove a group operator

If you wish to revoke someone's privileges as a group operator:

Go to your group’s main page.


Click the Settings icon that appears on the right side of the home page.


In the drop-down menu that appears, click Manage group operators.

Scroll to the user you wish to remove as an operator.


Select Drop privileges.

You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the operator was removed. The person you removed will not receive any notification. 

 

How to transfer group ownership

(Note: A group can only have one owner at a time. Only the current owner can transfer ownership of the group).

 

There are two ways to transfer ownership of a group:

 

If the person is already a group operator:


Go to your group's activity page.


Click on the Settings icon that appears on the right side.


In the drop-down menu that appears click Manage group operators.

Scroll to the person you want to be owner of the group and click Make owner. (Note: If this person was an owner before and you wish to transfer ownership back to them, you must drop their privileges and then re-add them as an operator.)

You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the change has been made. The person who you've made the owner should receive an email notifying them of the change.

 

If the person is a member of the group, but not currently an operator:

 

Go to your group's activity page.

 

Click the Settings icon that is located to the right of the page.

 

In the drop-down menu that appears click Edit group.


In the Group profile/tools tab, scroll down to the owner text box.


Erase your name and enter the name of the person you want to become the owner of the group.


 

Select Save, and then Publish in the window that pops up.

 

You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the change has been saved. The person who you've made the owner should receive an email notifying them of the change.